Jan 19

Fear of Men’s ‘Fall Forever’ Available

Fear of Men’s album Fall Forever is now available everywhere.  You can find it here.

Here’s the video for “Sane” from the album:

Jan 18

Sampha – “(No One Knows Me) Like The Piano”

Sampha has a beautiful new song, “(No One Knows Me) Like The Piano,” available here and on his forthcoming debut album, Process.

Jan 15

The xx – I See You

The xx have released their newest album, I See You, this week and have posted 2017 tour dates on their site.

Here is the video for their song “On Hold,” from I See You.

And here is the video for “Crystalised” from their 2009 debut album xx.

Jan 11

Video: Molly Burch – “Try”

Molly Burch has released a lovely and spring-y new video for “Try,” from her debut album, Please Be Mine, slated to be out February 17th on Captured Tracks records.

Jan 09

Buzzcocks Time’s Up and Spiral Scratch Vinyl/CD Set Available for a Limited Time


Domino records has reissued the Buzzcocks albums Time’s Up (1976) and Spiral Scratch (1977), and for the promotion, they are offering a special edition vinyl/CD box set limited to 1,000 copies:

Pre-order the special edition Buzzcocks Mk.1 Box Set, limited to 1000 hand-numbered copies globally – with Spiral Scratch and Time’s Up re-pressed on vinyl and CD alongside a raft of rare ephemera: http://smarturl.it/Mk1Boxset.

Here is “Breakdown” available in the reissue:


Jan 07

Of Montreal – “It’s Different For Girls”

Of Montreal

In case you missed it, in 2016 Of Montreal had their own take on the It’s-Different-For-Girls theme.

Happy New Year, y’all! Here’s the video for “It’s Different For Girls” from the album Innocence Reaches.

Jan 07

Pixx – “It’s Different For Girls”


Speaking of throwbacks, Chipstead’s Pixx (Hannah Rodgers) shared a live version of her cover of Joe Jackson’s 1979 hit “It’s Different For Girls” on her SoundCloud.

Here’s the original Joe Jackson version from his album I’m the Man:

Jan 07

Video: The Midnight – “Crockett’s Revenge”

The Midnight just released a new video, set to scenes from the ’80’s movie Fright Night, for the song “Crockett’s Revenge” from their 2016 album Endless Summer.

Jan 06

Video: Dirty Projectors – “Little Bubble”

Dirty Projectors released a new video today for the song “Little Bubble.”

Dec 26

Uteki’s Songs of 2016

It was an incredible year of music as I highlighted in the Albums of 2016 post earlier this month. Here is a list of my favorite 50 songs of 2016, along with playlists for your listening pleasure.

50 Weyes Blood – Generation Why
49 DÆVA – Dream
48 Grouper – Headache
47 Fear of Men – Island
46 Weezer – King Of The World
45 The Avalanches – Because I’m Me
44 Blood Orange – Best to You (feat. Empress Of)
43 The xx – On Hold
42 Chromatics – Dear Tommy
41 Deakin – Good House

40 Bon Iver – 33 “GOD”
39 Hinds – Chili Town
38 Arca – Urchin
37 Maria Usbeck – Moai Y Yo
36 The Range – Florida
35 Future – Inside The Mattress
34 Hamilton Leithauser + Rostam – A 1000 Times
33 Wolf Parade – Floating World
32 Nicolas Jaar – Leaves
31 Pixx – Baboo

30 Kaytranada – Lite Spots
29 Jamila Woods – Heavn
28 The Strokes – OBLIVIUS
27 A Tribe Called Quest – We The People…
26 Ryan Playground – Are You Mad
25 Beck – Wow
24 Whitney – No Woman
23 DJ Taye – Burnin Ya Boa
22 Burial – Young Death
21 The Midnight – Endless Summer

20 FKA Twigs – Good To Love

19 Cass McCombs – Bum Bum Bum

18 Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein – Stranger Things

17 Kanye West (feat. Chance the Rapper) – Ultralight Beam

16 Molly Burch – Try

15 Kornél Kovács – The Bells

14 Animal Collective – Golden Gal

13 Porches – Underwater

12 Angel Olsen – Shut Up Kiss Me

11 Jessy Lanza – It Means I Love You

10 Marissa Nadler – Katie I Know

09 James Blake – The Colour In Anything

08 Radiohead – True Love Waits

07 Kedr Livanskiy – April

06 Hundred Waters – Forgive Me for Giving Up

05 Beyoncé – All Night

04 Mitski – Your Best American Girl

03 Radiohead – Daydreaming

02 Kedr Livanskiy – No More Summer Rain

01 James Blake – Radio Silence

Uteki’s Songs of 2016 Playlists

YouTube Playlist:

Spotify Playlist:

SoundCloud Playlist:

Older posts «